United Youth

Manchester United Reserves & Academy News

Reds remake the Italian Job as Cofie clinches the Claudio Sassi

Posted by nickogs20 on April 6, 2010

A solitary second-half goal handing United a 1-0 win in the final of the Torneo di Calcio Memorial Claudio Sassi… hmm, where have we heard that before? Ok, Bologna were the opposition this time around and it was John Cofie rather than Ryan Tunnicliffe with the decisive strike, but there was a definite sense of deja vu in Maranello yesterday as the Reds retained the Memorial Sassi.

Bologna proved stubborn opponents in the final, the game being played mostly in the half of the rossoblù but genuine chances proving hard to come by for the reigning champions. Indeed, the best opportunity of the first half probably fell to Bologna, with striker Polini firing over when well placed. The vital breakthrough did eventually come for United fifteen minutes into the second-half however, Cofie rising highest to head home Paul Pogba’s right-wing cross. Conor Devlin was called upon to make a vital late intervention, but the Reds held on to win the final and the 20th Memorial Sassi tournament, a deserved second consecutive triumph in the peninsula for Paul McGuinness’ side.

The Reds got their title defence off to a slow start, slipping to a 1-0 defeat at the hands of Danish side OB Odense in their opening match on Friday evening, but soon got things back on track with resounding wins over co-host side Modena and local amateur side Virtus Castelfranco by four and five goals to nil respectively, securing second place in their group behind the unbeaten Danes. The other co-hosts U.S. Sassuolo were United’s semi-final opponents on Sunday evening, and just as they had in last year’s group stage, the Reds ran out 2-1 winners, securing their place in the final against the Odense-conquering Bologna.

McGuinness fielded a starting XI of Devlin, Reece Brown, Joe Dudgeon, Tom Thorpe, Scott Wootton, Pogba, Etzaz Hussain, Oliver Norwood, Cameron Stewart, Will Keane and Cofie in the final, six of whom ultimately picked up their second Memorial Sassi winners’ medals. One of those, Wootton, received the trophy from a presentation party that included the Italian international forward Luca Toni, and United added more silverware to the Old Trafford trophy cabinet, following up their defence of the Northern Ireland Milk Cup last July.

Unfortunately the official tournament site has been a little scarce with details on lineups and scorers for the Reds’ other games. We’ll try to fill in some of those gaps over the next few days, but keep an eye out for an MUTV review of the tournament at some point over the next couple of weeks, which should help to put some flesh on the bones for stats fans.


Full Squad

1. Conor Devlin
2. Reece Brown
3. Zeki Fryers
4. Michele Fornasier
5. Tom Thorpe
6. Scott Wootton
7. Cameron Stewart
8. Oliver Norwood
9. John Cofie
10. Joe Dudgeon
11. Nicky Ajose
12. Larnell Cole
13. Sam Johnstone
14. Jesse Lingard
15. Sean McGinty
16. Paul Pogba
17. Etzaz Hussain
18. Will Keane


Group stage
2/4/10: United 0-1 OB Odense

3/4/10: United 4-0 Modena

4/4/10: United 5-0 Virtus Castelfranco

4/4/10: United 2-1 US Sassuolo

5/4/10: United 1-0 Bologna


Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

4 Responses to “Reds remake the Italian Job as Cofie clinches the Claudio Sassi”

  1. steve said

    where our three italin youngsters i imagine petrucci’s still not fit (what’s up with him im worried his talents going to waist) but where are the two defenders i’d of thought they’s of thrived on coming and reprusenting united in italy

  2. Cem said

    what has every one made of cofie? also whats happend to massacci?

  3. […] 2-5 april 2010 Torneo di Calcio Memorial Claudio Sassi (juniorlagsturnering i Italien) United-Odense 0-1 United-Modena 4-0 United-Virtus Castelfranco 5-0 United-US Sassuolo 2-1 United-Bologna 1-0 Uniteds trupp: 1. Conor Devlin, 2. Reece Brown, 3. Zeki Fryers, 4. Michele Fornasier, 5. Tom Thorpe, 6. Scott Wootton, 7. Cameron Stewart, 8. Oliver Norwood, 9. John Cofie, 10. Joe Dudgeon, 11. Nicky Ajose, 12. Larnell Cole, 13. Sam Johnstone, 14. Jesse Lingard, 15. Sean McGinty, 16. Paul Pogba, 17. Etzaz Hussain, 18. Will Keane United vann turneringen. Mer information på United Youth. […]

Leave a Reply to steve Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: