United Youth

Manchester United Reserves & Academy News

De Laet: “It’ll take weeks to recover from this shock”

Posted by nickogs20 on January 9, 2009

New Reds signing Ritchie de Laet has been speaking to Belgian sports website Sporza.be about his shock move from Stoke City to the European champions.

The article’s in Dutch but we’ve got an exclusive translation, enjoy…

‘What a dream’

Friday; the rather unknown Belgian defender Ritchie de Laet (20) has seduced Manchester United into giving him a contract. He reacted dumbstruck to his transfer. De Laet couldn’t deliver the goods in England with Stoke City, yet received a contract offer by Manchester United, mostly through the work of ex-Antwerp coach Warren Joyce. “What a dream”, Ritchie told Sporza. “I’ve been unable to sleep through most of the night, this is truly unbelievable. Warren Joyce has played a pivotal role in bringing me to Manchester United. He has really pushed Sir Alex into bringing me here. I’m definitely going to try everything within my power to prove that I belong here.”

Ritchie de Laet, a versatile defender, will join the reserve team of Manchester United, but was told he will be able to train with the first team (and star players) on a regular basis. “I’ve been thinking all night about what I’m going to say to Cristiano Ronaldo. I think I’ll just stay calm and politely say hello, and maybe ask him how he’s doing after his car crash. I haven’t got a driver’s licence yet, but I won’t be asking him for lessons, that’s for sure”, Ritchie laughed. “But this really is the dream. It’ll take a couple of weeks to let this sink in. I’m definitely staying until June, and hopefully I’ll be able to force my way towards a two or three-year contract. I believe that I can pull this off.”

‘The telephone hasn’t been quiet’

Ritchie de Laet was pretty much an unknown player in belgium, until Thursday. Now he’s in the spotlights, all of a sudden. “The telephone hasn’t stopped ringing. Everyone is giving me a call, even the English press. My girlfriend can’t believe it either. She has told me that football really should come first from now on. She made me promise not to think about anything else than football until after 5pm, every single day. I’ll be receiving my own locker with my own name on it. Wearing that shirt, running about on that field, training with the world’s best… I still can’t quite believe my luck.”

De Laet has also spoken to Stoke City website Why Delilah about the move – you can read the full article here.

7 Responses to “De Laet: “It’ll take weeks to recover from this shock””

  1. […] sterling work by manunitedyouth you can find a translation of a Belgian interview with de Laet here. Highlight: “I haven’t got a driver’s licence yet, but I won’t be asking […]

  2. The Gaffer said

    He’s sure to be a great addition to the side, but I personally think he should go on loan, because he has the potential to play first team footy not reserves

  3. nickogs20 said

    I think the whole point of the deal is that we want to bring him in and take a good look at him ourselves (and maybe use him to fill David Gray’s role in the reserves). Seeing as he essentially has until the summer to earn himself a longer contract, a loan really isn’t likely.

  4. lorenzo23 said

    Good to see the weblog back in action – hope it continues. I noticed their was a Reserves friendly at Newcastle Town tonight (Mon 12th Jan) – won 1-7. Maybe a bit of match fitness before the Accrington Stanley cup tie. I’m hoping to get to that game, never been to The Cliff.

  5. nickogs20 said

    Been trying to find the result for that game all night, didn’t think to check my own blog!

    Good to have a game at the Cliff, only a stones throw from my house. Should point out that we’ve got a MSC game on Monday before that, at Stockport County – I need to update the sidebar to show that.

  6. lorenzo23 said

    Found a report today – goals from
    Robert Brady 13, 65, 67
    Joseph Dudgeon 27, 79
    Federico Macheda 39
    Cameron Stewart 85

    so looks like the Academy lads

    http://www.thisisstaffordshire.co.uk/sport/Football-Newcastle-praised-despite-defeat/article-608791-detail/article.html

    Should be doing other things but rather bob about on t’internet.
    P.S. the Reserves away against Liverpool has been moved to Thurs. 12th March from Tues 10th ‘cos of Champions League

    http://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk/sport/football/liverpool/news/4033468.Reds__United_clash_moved/

    Hopefully that’ll be on Liverpool TV (part of my Setanta subscription – haven’t got MUTV anymore)

  7. […] defender Ritchie de Laet was plucked from Stoke City’s reserves on a short-term deal that shocked him as much as it did everyone else. Little was expected of the 20 year-old, but nearly a year on he’s on the fringes of the […]

Leave a Reply

 
